Email: committeeservices@horsham.gov.uk Direct line: 01403 215465

Extraordinary Council

Wednesday, 13th December, 2023 at 6.45 pm or immediately after the end of the Council meeting, whichever is later

Park Suite, Parkside, Chart Way, Horsham

To: All Members of the Council

You are summoned to the meeting to transact the following business

Agenda

Jane Eaton **Chief Executive**

Page No.

- 1. **Apologies for absence**
- 2. **Declarations of Members' Interests** To receive any declarations of interest from Members

3. To confer the title of Honorary Alderman on past members of the Council 3 - 4

Christine Costin Gordon Lindsay Kate Rowbottom

in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and the community.

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than twothirds of the members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past members of the Council but who are not then Councillors of the Council.



Public Document Pack

This page is intentionally left blank



Extraordinary Council Meeting

13 December 2023

ふみ

To confer the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District on past members of the Council

ふみ

The Chairman of the Council, Councillor David Skipp, will invite the following Members to propose and second that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon:

Christine Costin

Proposer: Councillor Martin Boffey Seconder: Councillor Belinda Walters

Gordon Lindsay

Proposer: Councillor Philip Circus Seconder: Councillor Tricia Youtan

Kate Rowbottom

Proposer: Councillor Philip Circus Seconder: Councillor Martin Boffey

In each case, the Chairman will ask if any other Members wish to speak and will then ask for a show of hands in favour of the proposal.

After the vote, the newly appointed Honorary Alderman will receive a framed certificate and badge from the Chairman.

The Chairman will then invite the Honorary Alderman to address the Council.

৵৵

Christine Costin

Member of this Council from May 1995 to May 2023 representing Trafalgar Joint Burials Committee Environmental Services Committee (1996 - 2001) Leisure Services Committee (1995 - 2001) Licensing Committee Planning Committee (North)

సాళు

Gordon Lindsay

Member of this Council from May 2003 to May 2023 representing Southwater South and Shipley Cabinet Member for Finance & Assets (2010 – 2011) Cabinet Member for Resources (2013 – 2015) Cabinet Member for the Local Economy (2015 – 2019) Licensing Committee Planning Committee (North) Planning Committee (South)

৵৵

Kate Rowbottom

Member of this Council from May 2011 to May 2023 representing Billingshurst Chairman of the Council 2019 and 2022 Cabinet Member for Community & Wellbeing (2015 – 2017) Cabinet Member for Housing & Public Protection (2017 – 2018) Governance Committee Licensing Committee Standards Committee Planning Committee (South)

ちん